E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

humans can lick too
2002-03-11@8:28 p.m.

Drove into Clarksville to go to the bookstore after my shrink session today. Bought a massive Batman graphic novel and Jan Harold Brunvand's newest Urban Legends book.

Always fascinating, Urban Legends I mean. Did anyone else have that series of books "Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark" when they were kids? I loved them. If you haven't seen them they're fully illustrated books of well, scary stories. The black and white illustrations are super creepy to me now so of course they scared the shit out of me when I was a kid. Which is probably why I loved them. When I was old enough to start going to slumber parties I was aghast to hear other kids telling these stories as though they'd actually happened. I assumed they'd read the books too and were playing me for a sucker. Then one day, in a completely unrelated incident, I heard the words Urban Myth.

Ooh, myths. Sounded like fun so I went straight to my local Barnes & Noble and started prowling around for a book about them. And I found one called The Mexican Pet. Son of a bitch! 'That's the title of one of my favorite stories from my favorite childhood books.' The guy in the back seat was in there too, and the girl who had spider eggs hatch out of her face. All my favorite stories were re-tellings of Urban Legends and I never knew. So I bought The Mexican Pet and later The Vanishing Hitchhiker, Curses! Broiled Again and pretty much every other Brunvand and UL book I could get my hands on. I even have the Big Book of Urban Legends, a graphic novel of some of the best ULs.

I even saw Urban Legends the first time because the premise sounded too good to pass up. So so execution and a truly horrible ending but some of the UL sequences were pretty cool.

< sim-o-cidal thoughts - blood >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00