E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

antonym farm
2002-06-24@5:09 a.m.

I have issues with my tendency to talk like a sixteen year old Valley girl. I've been trying to ween myself off the word 'like'(as in 'so and so was all, like...') since I was twelve. I will never get those ten years back and it was all a waste of my time 'cause I still say it, hell, I still type it. I avoid the word 'cool' like the plague. Mostly because my mother went through this phase where she pronounced it 'ke-ewl', which never ceased to mortify me. Plus one of my older sisters was once overly fond of the phrase 'cool beans.' (You thought it was just me that was dorky, nope, its my whole family.) You'd be amazed how difficult it can be to think of synonyms for 'cool' without being reduced to calling things 'keen' or 'neat-o'. I used to think 'That's nice' was a perfectly good alternative, but apparently it just made me sound bored.

There is one word that I refuse to give up. I will be using it to my dying day. 'Whatever.' It has so many uses. As a substitute for 'I don't know' for instance.

"Hey, Mongi, What do ya want for dinner?"
"Whatever."
'Cause the odds are I don't have a clue what I'd like to be eating in five hours, Mom!

or

as a substitute for 'I don't care.'

"Do you think I should paint the kitchen table peach?"
"Whatever."
While I would never paint anything of mine peach, you can paint the kitchen table whatever color you want, Mom, cause it's yours okay?

or

as a substitue for 'I really wasn't listening.'

"Blah blah blah, Mongi, blah blah. Susan!"(My middle name is Suzanne, but my mother never pronounces it that way, its always Susan, Suzie, or Sue when she's trying to get my attention.)
"Whatever, Mom."
'Cause I wasn't actively ignoring you or anything, but I really wasn't listening either.

So you see, the second most useful word in the English language (the first is still fuck) is Whatever. But keep in mind, its one word, not two, so don't pronounce it that way. That way lies annoyance.

< an act of uncharateristic optimism - blowin' in the wind >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00