E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

maybe i should just make a collage
2002-05-09@10:54 p.m.

I used to hate hearing people whine about needing a 'creative outlet'. Even though I've always thought of myself as a creative person it always seemed like such an artsy fartsy froo-froo thing to actually talk about. I guess mostly because most of the artsy people I met in high school were totally full of shit. You remember them, we called them posers.

I was constantly writing in school; stories, poetry, really bad song lyrics. Before I got to Dyersburg in my sophomore year I was really proud of my work and had no problem submitting to contests. Because I was a "smart kid", "talented and gifted." I'd been lumped together with others of my kind since first grade when I was in the elite yellow reading group.

And of course within the smart kids group was the sub-group of the creative smart kids. We answered the literature questions at academic tournaments. We painted the scenery and did the acting and wrote the stories while other people figured out the tech stuff. And we were treated as being just as important as the techies with their more practical talents.

But that was all before D-burg. I should have known something was wrong straight away. The guidance counselor was really impressed. I mean, yeah, I was smart, but I'd taken classes and been in competitions with some really brilliant kids. The proper response to my resume should have been, "Oh that's nice. So I guess you'll want to be taking the AP classes then?"

Whoa, wait a minute. What do you mean only the juniors and seniors can take AP? What do you mean there's only two AP classes? So you kind of have academic Olympics, but no one's actually competed in years? So what do all the smart kids do?

Officially they didn't really exist anymore. Part of it was high school as a whole, but most of it was Dyersburg. Small town, small schools that didn't have the money for special programs for the "talented and gifted." So the smart kids had adapted. They'd splintered off into chess geeks, and drama geeks, and band geeks. Where once these groups had been united by their common intelligence level they were now kept apart by weird social mores.

Art and drama classes were only taken to get a credit to graduate. Poetry and stories were written for a grade. And don't tell you're guidance counselor you want to be an actress cause you're likely to get laughed at.

Now that I think about it, those poser people weren't so bad. They sure beat the resume padders all to hell. Plus they thought I rocked. Which probably didn't help my arrogance problems much.

And I totally can't remember where this was headed when I started it. Oh, I know, I have no life therefore I'm going to whine about all the crap that's gone wrong in the past because I'm terrified of letting a day go by without adding an entry. Because this is my only creative outlet. Man, high school sucked.

< \"I love your hair colour. What number is that?\" - subtext in the multiplex >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00