E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

but my feet show it cause their longfellows
2002-04-06@12:25 a.m.

I laid down at three this afternoon meaning to take an hour long nap and ended up sleeping for four. I'm ruined for sleep tonight so its just me, my computer, and Cartoon Network for the rest of the night.

I've always had weird sleep schedules. I've been told that I'm not really an insomniac its just that I sleep as much as I can whenever I can so I can't sleep when I'm supposed to. Bullshit.

I can't remember a single week night in high school when I got more than four or five hours of sleep, if that. Even when I'm worn out it doesn't mean I'll be able to sleep. Eh, crap.

It was the same in college, even when I did go to class. My freshman year I'd lay down to sleep sometime around 11 or 12, ready for 8 hours of sleep before my morning classes and I'd end up just tossing and turning and staring at the ceiling until 2 or 3. Then I'd get up for a little while and surf the net or read. Sometimes I could get to sleep after that, but if I couldn't I knew I was screwed and usually just stayed up. During one of those times I wrote this poem. I've never shared poetry in here before and I likely never will again, but I'm sleepy and pissed so I've decided to inflict this on you, my poor, dear readers. Read and understand why I don't do this kind of thing.

O Insomnia

Sitting. And smoking.
And talking to myself.
Watching the occasional guy sneak out of the girl's side of Cross Hall,
Don't sleep with dorm boys
You silly girl.
Pick one with a house, that's what I did.

I gave up on sleep at 6 o'clock,
O Insomnia,
So now I'm doing laundry and writing mediocre verse.

Even inspiration is still snoozing at this hour.
Why do you do this to me,
O Insomnia?

A campus cop gave me the eye as I went to put my laundry in the dryer,
I must look suspicious.
Mismatched clothes and sunglasses,
A couple of sweaters and over sized pants splotched with paint.

I could write a parody of Rent,
O Insomnia,
Where everyone has crabs instead of AIDs.
But I'm afraid I might offend the theater Hindus.
Or maybe I'm just too damn lazy.

Good morning,
Insomnia,
Nice day.

< how many calories are in that horse? - my inner moppet made me do it >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00