E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

dick and fart jokes
2002-03-25@12:45 a.m.

Early numbers indicate that 'Sorority Boys' debuted at number nine for the weekend box office, which means that I probably won't get to see until it comes on video, ya know, next week. Its also getting really bad reviews. Its like crack for movie critics. You know they get off on trashing movies, they get to make snide remarks in the review and use bad puns to title them. 'Freddy Got Fingered' must have been a dream come true. Cause really, if they were forced to watch something that was truly excruciating wouldn't they give it rave reviews so more people would be subjected to it? Oh wait, that's what happened with 'Moulin Rouge'.

In the interest of being better prepared for when I do get to see 'Sorority Boys' I've been reading the reviews gathered at Rotten Tomatoes. And I've discovered a few interesting tid bits that instead of making me fear this film (or laugh at the cleverness of the reviewer) have instead made me want to see it more. Please note that I haven't provided the name of the reviewers after the quotes, no good reason, I'm just that lazy.

"The party scenes inside the KOK house have all the charm of a Girls Gone Wild video, and the scene in which Adina[Michael Rosenbaum] and her suitor both slip each other Rohypnol, the "date rape drug," counts as a new low in American popular culture."

Girls Gone Wild? I love those commercials, they're so unapologetically trashy, how could I not? But notice the reviewer said 'video' not just commercial, at least he didn't admit to owning the DVD. As for the roofies angle, I only have one thing to say to that: Michael, your fans are taking notes, be careful.

Moving on:
"In regards to being dumb and juvenile, it clearly succeeds - or fails, depending on one's overall view of the effort - as it delivers the sort of material designed to play to and hopefully entertain the Beavis and Butt-head crowd."

Dude, how do you fail at being dumb and juvenile? Its the easiest thing to do, teenage boys succeed at it everyday. And considering that I still laugh everytime somebody burps or farts in public, I think I'll be able to bond okay with the 'Beavis and Butthead crowd'.

"Yes, that's the middle school level of material offered, dear readers, for your viewing pleasure. If that makes you laugh, you'll probably enjoy the material involving hamster's and men's rear ends, the ultra hairy French girl sightings, menstrual humor, and of course, lots and lots of dildos."

All of these things are funny to me. But how's the execution?

"While I understand that the film isn't remotely trying to be high art, even dumb comedies have to be smart in how their humorous material is set up and then delivered. This one comes off as a lame, predictable and sophomoric experience that gets worse as it progresses."

Well, shit.

Am I expecting this to be a bad movie? Without a doubt. Will I still see it? Do bears shit in the woods?

Now, follow that link to Rotten Tomatoes and notice one thing, dear readers. The male reviewers made a big deal out of the movie being misogynistic, but the two best reviews are from, you guessed it, women.

< our generation's glass slipper - blech, blah, errr, and argh! >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00