E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

a long story with a very short point
2003-10-16@2:32 a.m.

An entry in purplebanana's guestbook reminded me of perhaps the meanest thing I've ever done. Also the meanest thing I've ever done that I still can't bring myself to feel sorry for. I just can't work up any shame to push away the giddy giggles.

It was the summer after my freshman year in college and I was living in my very first apartment with two other girls. We'll call them H and A cause while I'm pretty sure I can't be sued over telling this story I still ain't taking any chances.

H was a 19 year old divorcee. I met her in the wake of the tornado that trashed the Austin Peay campus, in line for a ham sandwich after we were all kicked out of our dorm rooms. APSU ponied up the money for hotel rooms and I shared one with her and two other girls for 3 or 4 days. She was kind of annoying, but also terribly fascinating in the same way car wrecks are, you want to see if anyone comes out alive.

A was a friend of a friend. And in my defense..it was all her idea.

So we'd all been living together for about a month, and somehow in that time had not killed one another, A and I were talking one day when A decided she needed to lay a little confession on me. It seems that sometimes when she was home alone she would sneak into H's room and read her diary. To my eternal sorta-feel-a-little-naughty-about-ness I commanded her to show me where it was so I could read it myself.

It got to be a sort of routine. H didn't write in her diary everyday, but enough so about once a week A and I would have something scandalous to read while we sat on my bed smoking cigarettes and giggling like fools. H filled her diary with the sort of stuff that only people with a large circle of mutual friends could find so amusing. It was mostly her thoughts on us as roommates (we sucked, yeah, but not nearly as much as she thought we did) and her various sad, sad crushes. Her particular thoughts on a guy I went to high school with still make me cringe.

Two roommates sharing the thoughts of another as bonding ritual isn't that bad. I wouldn't be so ashamed of not being ashamed if it had stopped there. Except of course we didn't.

C'mon, how could we not share?

< yo ho ho, a pirates d*** for me - older but not even a little bit wiser >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00