E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

the balding cop gazed into his partner's lovely eyes
2002-08-19@3:01 a.m.

I know, I'm being really crappy about updating this thing, but just bear with me for awhile and I swear it'll get better. Anyway, I was looking over yesterdays entry (which will more than likely never be finished, but you'd probably already guessed that) when I got to thinking about the origins of my interest in slash.

Its so easy for me to forget that as prolific as slashers are on the web our proclivities are still considered kind of...odd? to most folks. Its not until I bring it up in real life (like the time I misremembered a That 70s Show slash fic for an actual episode of the show) that its pointed out to me that I'm probably the only person in the room who even knows what fan fiction is, let alone what the term slash* means. So how does one come to immerse themselves in such an unusual world? What makes them say, "Hey, hot guy on guy action, that's totally for me!"? Well, I'm sure every slash reader and writer has their own tale, this is mine.

The year was 1994..ish(I'm terrible with dates, y'all.) The show was Due South. I was 15, I was obsessed and I'd just found the Internet. I was chatting with fellow fans(my AOL screen name was Jude1979, give me a shout if you remember me), I compiled a list of Duesies(quotes from the show, I am an enormous geek) and traded tapes with other people who's affiliate station felt it was perfectly okay to interrupt the broadcast for storm warnings(lousy bastards.) So eventually the term fan fiction was bound to pop up. And eventually I was going to wander into the adult fan fiction, because hey, I was 15 after all.

I did not however go looking for slash fiction, I just kind of stumbled into it. One minute Ray(V) and Benton are having a lovely picnic in the country, the next they're having wild monkey love on a tree branch(no, really.) I didn't immediately think it was the hottest thing in the world, or an interesting study of the power dynamics in their partnership, or that one day I really wanted to write stuff like this. Actually, I'm pretty sure I just giggled myself silly. Ray and Benton were doin' it! On a tree branch!

I didn't read another piece of fan fiction, slash, het or gen, for another 3 years. And then came Buffy.

Which is a story for another day. No, no, quit yer bitchin', I'm tired now. I'll see y'all in a week or so when I try to make my fascination with belly button lint into an entire entry.

*Slash is fan fiction about a sexual and/or romantic relationship between characters of the same sex (canon be damned for the most part, but it really depends on who you ask these days.)

< entertain the brutes - its called filler. deal with it. >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00