E C L E C T I C I T Y
new archive e-mail sign note

liv tyler: now with improved sucking power
2003-09-20@7:39 a.m.

Yes, I have been hiding from you. But what I have to say is not an easy thing. I had to search the depths of my heart and the sub-basement of my very soul to come to the decision to put aside my pride and admit this to you, my dear, faithful reader.

I no longer hate The Lord of the Rings.

I know I made a big deal about how much Fellowship sucked and how Peter Jackson was a stupid ass. But I was wrong. I can admit that while more than just a little flawed Fellowship is not worth watching Vanilla Sky a thousand times back to back just to avoid. I still think showing the Saruman/Gandalf confrontation was a mistake (I just find that I don't enjoy watching two old men point their sticks at each other) and I still think the prologue was damned lazy exposition, but I can admit that the first movie of the trilogy has its merits. The casting is extraordinary. With the obvious exception of Liv Tyler even the not so great actors (Orlando Bloom has two facial expressions, furrowed brow and unfurrowed brow) at least look the part. Sean Astin and Sean Bean were the standouts for me, they both played their characters exactly as I had imagined them in the book. The last thirty minutes are riveting.

Plus it was directed by the same guy who made simply the coolest movie I've seen in years, The Two Towers.

I mean how can the same guy that made a movie where only the last thirty minutes and a few moments here and there are actively interesting make a sequel to that movie that is so much fun? The Two Towers has everything that was missing in Fellowship. Interesting characters, a good pace, and they even found some humor. And Gollum is every bit as amazing as I'd heard. The Ents weren't exactly how I thought they'd be, but they still looked pretty cool. There was even a scene where, gulp, I didn't hate Liv Tyler.

Oh, and Merry's the one with the big nose.

< no. wire. hangers! - yo ho ho, a pirates d*** for me >

profile rings wish d-land

Name: MsMongi aka Kim
AIM: Lola_N_Slacks

Too Pink? Bite me.

People who make me feel dumb:

lizabeth1st
mmqc
ms-m
berrywine
heidiann
pillow-wept
lv2write00